MBU Student Leaders Honored

On April 5, MBU recognized students who go above and beyond to support and engage the university community. The annual Leadership Awards Ceremony honors individuals for their commitment to excellence and creating positive change on campus. Also at the ceremony, new Student Government Association officers accepted their roles for the 2022–23 academic year. See the award winners and new officers below.

The student-directed music ministry Anointed Voices of Praise; Angie Contreras; and Jelani Meyer were among the award recipients at the recent ceremony.

2022 Student Leadership Awards

President’s Award 

For demonstrating excellence in campus leadership and service and playing an instrumental role in advancing the university’s strategic plan: Jelani Meyer

Boldly Baldwin Award

For demonstrating exceptional school spirit and a desire to mentor and help fellow students: Alexis Dearmon

Brenda Bryant Leadership Award

For demonstrating excellence in campus leadership: Skye Phinizy

Honor and Integrity Award

For demonstrating a commitment to upholding the principles of Mary Baldwin’s Honor and Conduct Codes: Kenneth Kuilan-Guzman

Global Citizenship Award 

For demonstrating respect for all people and valuing the diverse perspectives of others: Angie Contreras

Unsung Hero Award

For demonstrating excellence in service to the university, regardless of receiving public acknowledgement for their work: Heather Korzun

Staff of the Year 

For demonstrating outstanding service to the MBU community and leadership to students: Tracy Hiner, director of dining services 

Organization Service Award 

For engaging in service and promoting global awareness and civic engagement on the MBU campus: Net Impact, the MBU sustainability club

Organization of the Year

For demonstrating the most effective student engagement, and encouraging participation in campus life: Anointed Voices of Praise, the MBU music ministry of traditional and contemporary gospel music

2022–23 Student Officers

Executive Officer of Diversity and Inclusivity: Teaira Jordan

Executive Officer of Academic Affairs: Logan Pinkston-Sayers

Executive Officer of Campus Services: Carra Litton

Honor Council Chair: L. Brown

Student Conduct Board Chair: Lakeje Bekuretsion

Class President ’23: Adele Beaucicot

Honor Council Representatives: Logan Pinkston-Sayers, Asude Ertas, Gabrielle Foster

Baldwin Program Board Chair: Chloé Hagins