Trustees Honor President Pamela Fox in Special Ceremony

April 27, 2023

On April 13, the MBU Board of Trustees hosted a celebration of President Pamela R. Fox and her historic 20-year presidency during their annual spring meeting on campus. 

Trustees and MBU leaders, past and present, gathered with community representatives on the sun-filled Administration Building lawn. Musicians from the Heifetz International Music Institute performed; former Board chairs shared stories and tributes to Fox’s leadership; and Staunton Mayor Stephen Claffey declared that it was “Pamela Fox Day” in a city proclamation highlighting her tenure. Fox’s husband, Central Blue Ridge Community Foundation President and CEO Dan Layman, was also lauded for his dedicated efforts to advance Mary Baldwin and many community organizations. 

The Board revealed a surprise honor for the couple: the naming of the Administration Building as Pamela R. Fox Leadership Hall, and North Court — the terrace connecting Administration with Carpenter Academic Hall and McClung Residence Hall — as William Daniel Layman Court.      

See photos from the special ceremony honoring Fox’s leadership below.

Board Chair Gabrielle G. "Gabby" McCree '83 kicks off the April 13 ceremony honoring President Pamela Fox's 20-year presidency.

Staunton Mayor Stephen Claffey presents Fox with the Staunton City proclamation (left); former Board Chair Claire Lewis “Yum” Arnold '69 shares her memories of serving with Fox (right).

Dr. James "Jim" Lott, dean emeritus and professor emeritus of English, honors Dan Layman.

Trustees and MBU leaders, past and present, gather with community representatives on the Administration Building lawn for the ceremony.

Heifetz Institute musicians and Amber Randall Ocasio ’14, MS ’22 perform "A Hymn for Mary Baldwin."

Former Vice President of Enrollment James “Jim” McCoy toasts President Fox and Dan Layman.

Current and former Mary Baldwin Board chairs and trustees gather with President Fox: (from left to right) Jane Harding Miller '76, Gabby McCree '83, Lyn McDermid '95, Yum Arnold '69, Anna Kate Reid Hipp '63, and Louise Rossett McNamee '70